Seize roles ? windows server, 2003 / 2008

Don’t confuse seizure of roles with transfer. Seizure should only be used in the event that the role holder has failed and cannot be brought back online; if the server is online and functional you should do a transfer. Any role that is transferred — not seized — can be returned to the server it was transferred from. When you seize a role, the original role holder thinks it still holds that role. If you bring it back online, there will be multiple holders of the role, and AD corruption could occur.

0 0 vote
Article Rating

You may also like...

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x